Keep the faith.

To all my readers:

I have Part III of the subtext in the opening scenes of FC coming tomorrow, and I’m nearly finished on the Hank is Charles/Erik is Raven post.

But for now, let me say this:

I want you all to know that I believe 100% in what I’m posting here. I wouldn’t be doing any of this if I didn’t. It’s a tough thing coming out with a claim like Cherik becoming canon in Apocalypse, let alone trying to convince people of it. I don’t doubt it one bit, but I know a lot of you do. That’s totally fine– it doesn’t bother me one bit. I *understand* the doubts. I’ve been following the crumbs of this love story for quite some time, and when I first started out, I didn’t believe they would lead to anything. I’m pretty cynical about a lot of things. But too many things are adding up.

When I started this, I promised myself I would give this all up if I ever had to jump logic or felt like I was twisting the evidence in order to suit my theory. So far, I haven’t come to that point. I’m doing this as objectively as possible, especially considering I started out not shipping Charles and Erik at all. *At all.* But now that I see what these people are doing with Charles and Erik, and why they’re doing it, I’m completely behind them. We *need* this. And if 20th Century Fox wants to survive well into the future, they need it just as much.

Our country, our world is changing right now. We are watching evolution blossom right before our eyes, and art is reflecting this more and more everyday. What people couldn’t do 10 years ago, they can do now. What the X-Men film crew couldn’t do in the original franchise, *they can do now.* This is our time, and I want all of us to enjoy it. I wanna see those theaters packed when Apocalypse is released so we can all watch this moment happen between Charles and Erik.

They’re rebooting the entire story-as Singer and Vaughn have stated several times in interviews- not to so much erase the past, but so they can start over. Hit the reset button. And not be restricted by the original X-Men trilogy.

The screenwriters hint at Erik and Charles all the time. And you gotta remember- Singer outright lied about the ending of DoFP so the surprise wouldn’t be ruined.

That interview is here:

http://www.empireonline.com/interviews/interview.asp?IID=1892

He also says in that interview that the Xavier/Lehnsherr relationship was the reason why he decided to get involved with X-Men again.

And then there’s this recent interview with a Singer regarding gay or bisexual characters in comic book films. When the interviewer asks him about any gay potential gay characters in X-Men, he passes it off in the same way he passed off the characters coming back to life in DoFP:

http://www.ew.com/article/2015/04/22/bryan-singer-xmen-iceman-gay

Interviewer: What do you think of the future of gay characters in comic book movies?

Singer: Well, I don’t necessarily explore that in X-Men: Apocalypse, I can tell you that. But I would hope that at some point a character could emerge as gay or transgender. If it is explored, I hope it’s done the same way as in something like [1971’s] Sunday, Bloody, Sunday, where two men kissed on screen for one of the first times, and the way John Schlesinger filmed it, to quote him, it was just no big deal. Because the producers thought he should make it dark and moody. And he said, “No way, it is what is it: No big deal.”

THEN he goes on to say:

Interviewer: Like two people just saying hello to each other and kissing, which is totally normal.

Singer: Yes, exactly. So I hope if it is explored in the X-Men franchise by either myself or others, I hope they just treat it like what it is and not make a big deal of it. And I think we’re seeing that in television now and we’re seeing it more and more in movies, where gay characters are not just gay for gay’s sake. They just happen to be gay or bisexual or transgender. The less a deal one makes of it, the less of a deal it is.

Interviewer: So you’re pretty confident we’ll see that in a comic movie?

Singer: It’s inevitable. It’s evolving to a place, finally, at least in the United States. In other place it’s going backwards, unfortunately. But gay isn’t what it used to be. I remember in my high school, there were no gay people. I mean, obviously there were but nobody knew about it. Now people have coming-out parties for their high-school buddies. Not in every state, of course, but it’s happening.

…Yes. And since he already has a history of lying about his film endings because revealing endgame would RUIN the surprise, it’s not a stretch to believe he’s doing the same here with Apocalypse.

(As an aside: All those scenes in the end of DoFP, by the way, all involved LOVE relationships. Everyone back together…except Hank/Raven, and Charles/Erik.

And you have to remember who Singer is:

http://www.out.com/entertainment/movies/2014/05/14/xmen-bryan-singer-coming-out-bisexual-ellen-page-queer-allegories

Not only is HE family, so is Ellen Page. So is Ian McKellan, who has shipped Charles and Erik from the beginning. In fact, during the filming for Lord of the Rings, Jackson was a bit worried that the chemistry between Sam and Frodo was a bit much, but Ian convinced him to leave it in. He shipped Frodo and Sam. (IMDB confirms this in the trivia section. I’d post the actual quote here, but LotR trivia on the IMDB site is like 5000 pages long.) So, if he got the chance to do something like this, I don’t think he’d turn it down. Page would for sure want in. So would Ian.

I mean, Singer wanted to have Magneto carry Professor X out of Dark Cerebro in X2:

“An early draft of the script had Magneto saving Professor X from Dark Cerebro and escaping with the other X-Men, similar to what happened in the comic graphic novel that the film is based on. According to director Bryan Singer this was changed late in production not only to remain true to Magneto’s ruthless character, but also to give the other characters – namely Nightcrawler and Storm – something more to do in the film’s climax.” From IMDB

And then there’s this:

“This is the formative years of Xavier and Magneto, and the formation of the school and where their relationship took a wrong turn. There is a romantic element, and some of the mutants from X-Men will figure into the plot, though I don’t want to say which ones. There will be a lot of new mutants and a great villain.”

Bryan Singer- (2009) (When he was going to direct Magneto: Origins/XMFC)

But it’s not just Singer, it’s the screenwriters, too:

“It’s a tragic bromance,” says Zack Stentz, one of the screenwriters of X-Men: First Class, bringing to light what he considers, “the dirty little secret of the movie.” Bryan has told us that his model for this was J.J. [Abrams’] Star Trek,” recalls Zack, describing Abrams’ film as more of a “happy romance,” while First Class goes in the opposite direction. This is why Zack labels the film as a bromance. “It’s two characters who meet and love each other, but are driven apart by a combination of circumstance, and the fact that Erik can never get over the trauma of what was inflicted on him when he was a child.”

-Zack Stentz, MCM Buzz interview, 2011

(why would a bromance be a dirty little secret? Because it’s NOT a BROmance. It’s a ROmance. Stentz corrected that later on):

image

All I’m saying is…keep faith. I’ve got a ton more posts coming that will add fuel to this fire. One of the posts will be hitting on that exact quote Singer says above about not making the a same sex kiss a “big deal.” That’s deeeeeeefinitely the angle I thought they’ve been shooting for since I starting digging into all this. They’re going for the romance. Too many films with LGBT characters focus solely on the sexual aspect of a relationship. Rarely do we see the slow build up and blossoming of a romance that leads to a first kiss.

People who say they don’t “get” same sex couples usually cite the sex as a reason. “I don’t get how they do it,” “it’s unnatural,” “Doesn’t it hurt,” “How does it even work.” If they’re shown a slow burn romance where they can finally see WHY two people belong together and watch them grow into the relationship, they’ll be more likely to be tolerant when the pair finally does come together because they’ll have walked the whole path with them.

I believe Erik and Charles are endgame.

If I’m wrong? I’ll be shocked and bitterly disappointed. I’ll crawl into a shameful corner with my shattered Cherik feels. But I just don’t see that happening. 🙂

More to come!

Leave a Reply

